

City of Broken Arrow

Request for Action

File #: 20-469, Version: 1

Broken Arrow City Council Meeting of: 05-19-2020

Title:

Consideration, discussion and possible approval of five (5) lay members as appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council to fill the expired terms of lay members on the Judicial Nominating Committee

Background:

On April 4, 2005, the Broken Arrow City Council passed an Ordinance creating a Judicial Nominating Committee. Broken Arrow Municipal Code Section 14-6 provides that the Committee is to be composed of five (5) lay members and four (4) attorneys. Committee members serve for a term of three (3) years. The attorneys are within their three (3) year term. All five (5) lay member terms are expired. The Ordinance provides that the Mayor is to appoint all lay members to the Committee subject to confirmation by the City Council.

The following are the nominations:

Mayor Thurmond: Denny Hill

Vice Mayor Eudey: LaTonya Cundiff

Councilor Parks: Jim Hoffmiester

Councilor Wimpee: Joy Thorpe

Councilor Gillespie: Zane Anderson

Councilors may submit their nominee to the staff before Tuesday's meeting or share the name of their nominee at the May 19 meeting.

Cost: \$0

Funding Source: No requirement

Requested By: Trevor A. Dennis, City Attorney

Approved By: City Manager's Office

Attachments: None

Recommendation:

Approve the nominations of five members to the Judicial Nominating Committee.