

City of Broken Arrow

Request for Action

File #: 19-1002, Version: 1

Broken Arrow City Council Meeting of: 09/17/2019

Title:

Consideration, appointment of and swearing in of the new Youth City Council members for the 2019-2020 school year

Background:

The Broken Arrow Youth City Council was established by the City Council on June 16, 2001 by former Mayor Wade McCaleb. The Youth City Council represents an effort to link leaders of today with leaders of tomorrow. Vice Mayor Scott Eudey and Councilor Johnnie Parks are proud to lead the Youth City Council for the 2019-2020 school year. This will be the first class of sophomores to enter the program, committing to a three-year term. We are also appointing juniors for a two-year term, and one new senior to one year of service. We have ten returning seniors for a total of 33 youth councilors this year.

The following new students are recommended for appointment:

Sophomores: Audrey Arant (OSIEL), Andrew Brown (BAHS/EC), Corbett Campbell (Classical Conversations), Ben Cloud (Epic Charter School), Grace Lee (BAHS), Graci Lutz (BAHS), Muhammad Saeed (Peace Academy), Jacob Shotton (BAHS/EC), Grant Spillman (BAHS), Faythe Story (Union);

Juniors: Chloe Arroyo (homeschool), Hannah Basinger (BAHS), Jason "Eljah" Brown (homeschool), Amy Campbell (BAHS), Kylie Hammack (Union), Analyse Jester (BAHS), Kelley McDonald (BAHS), Alexandria Moore (BAHS), Arturo Ochoa (BAHS), Dulce Reyes (Union), Braxton Tempest (Union), Shrea Tyagi (Union);

Senior: Sydney Chincon (BAHS).

Cost: \$0

Funding Source: None

Requested By: Jennifer Swezey, Community Relations Liaison

Approved By: City Manager's Office

Attachments: Oaths of Office

Recommendation:

Approve the appointment of the new Youth City Council members.