

City of Broken Arrow

Request for Action

File #: 19-995, Version: 1

Broken Arrow City Council Meeting of: 08/06/2019

Title:

Consideration, discussion, and possible appointment of members of the Elm Place and New Orleans Advisory Committee

Background:

On February 20, 2018, the council contracted with Catalyst Commercial to prepare a Market Study and Small Area Plan for the Elm and New Orleans commercial area. In August 2018, voters approved \$2,600,000 in General Obligation Bonds for this intersection.

As a further effort to revitalize this corridor, the City Manager has recommended that an Elm Place and New Orleans Advisory Committee be created. This committee will be composed of twelve (12) members who will thoroughly review Catalyst's report and assist the City Council's decision-making on what priorities and what public improvements should be completed to revitalize the intersection. Likewise, what approaches should be taken to stimulate additional and new private investment in the area. It is anticipated that the committee will meet twice per month for approximately nine months.

City Council members of the committee will be nominated by the Council. Councilor Scott Eudey, Ward 4 and Councilor Christi Gillespie, Ward 3 are willing to be representatives of the City Council. Since the City Council will ultimately review and accept the recommendations from the Advisory Committee, the Administration recommends that a Councilor not serve as Chairperson of the Committee.

Each Councilor has nominated one person to the Committee. The City Manager has nominated two individuals. In addition, one person is nominated from the following entities: Planning Commission, Economic Development Corporation, and Broken Arrow Public Schools. All nominations are subject to the approval of the entire City Council.

The following is a list of the nominees:

Mayor Craig Thurmond Mindy Payne Vice Mayor Scott Eudev James Ring Councilor Johnnie Parks Danny Miller Councilor Debra Wimpee Tatum Adams Councilor Christi Gillespie Chase Elkins City Manager Lee Whelpley City Manager Roy Wood Economic Development Corp. Jim Beavers Fred Dorrell Planning Commission **Broken Arrow Schools** Karla Dyess

Staff recommends that the City Council approve the nominations for the Advisory Committee.

File #: 19-995, Version: 1

Cost: \$0

Funding Source: N/A

Requested By: Michael Spurgeon, City Manager

Approved By: City Manager's Office

Attachments: None

Recommendation:

As City Council Directs.