

City of Broken Arrow

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #:	20-473	Name:		
Туре:	General Business	Status:	Agenda Ready	
File created:	5/5/2020	In control:	Broken Arrow City Council	
On agenda:	5/19/2020	Final action:		
Title:	Consideration, discussion and possible appointment and reappointment of members of the Elm and New Orleans Advisory Committee			
Sponsors:				
Indexes:				
Code sections:				
Attachments:				

Broken Arrow City Council Meeting of: 05-19-2020

Title:

Consideration, discussion and possible appointment and reappointment of members of the Elm and New Orleans Advisory Committee

Background:

The City Council, in their meeting of August 6, 2019, created a 12 person Advisory Committee, to help review and complete the Elm and New Orleans Study and assist the City Council in decision making for setting priorities towards the revitalization of this area.

This Advisory Committee's term has expired in April 2020. And the request is to extend this committee for at least 6 months, (or longer, if necessary).

The Advisory Committee has met collectively over 11 times. On March 17, 2020, the City Council appointed Pastor Scott Moore, as there was a vacancy, upon Fred Dorrell's resignation. Two City Council members, Vice Mayor Scott Eudey and Councilor Christie Gillespie have also served on this Committee. All, except one member, currently on the Committee has agreed to serve again, if reappointed by the City Council. Member Karla Dyess, representing the Broken Arrow School District has requested to be replaced by another representative of the School District.

The Advisory Comm. was set up by the City Council, which appointed one person each. The City Manager has nominated two persons. And there are one representative of each of the following; Planning Commission, Economic Development Corporation and the Broken Arrow Schools. All nominations and appointments are subject to the approval of the entire City Council.

The following is the list of the Advisory Committee, which has met since August 2019. All members (except one) have agreed to continue to serve:

Mindy Payne, James Ring, Danny Miller, Tatum Adams, Chase Elkins, Scott Eudey, Christie Gillespie, Dr. Roy Wood, Pastor Scott Moore, Lee Whelpley, Jim Beavers,	Appointed by Mayor Craig Thurmond Appointed by Vice Mayor Scott Eudey Appointed by Councilor Johnnie Parks Appointed by Councilor Debra Wimpee Appointed by Councilor Christi Gillespie Appointed by City Council Appointed by City Council Appointed by City Manager Appointed by City Manager Appointed by Planning Commission Appointed by Economic Development Corp. Appointee of Broken Arrow Schools		
Cost:	\$0		
Funding Source:	None		
Requested By:	Larry R. Curtis, Community Development Director		
Approved By:	City Manager's Office		
Attachments:	None		

Recommendation:

Staff recommends that the City Council approve the extension of the Advisory Committee and appoint the members listed.